Author Topic: Chicken Pasture  (Read 1611 times)

Offline TXBEAN

• Grasshopper
    • View Profile
Chicken Pasture
« on: July 21, 2016, 02:36:58 PM »
Hello all!
I'm new here (but been lurking in the garden forums for a couple of years). I am new to raising chickens and have had my first dozen since April. I have three small "pastures" I rotate the chickens in but need some advice on just what and when to plant. Two areas are about 650 sq. ft. each, the third is less than 300 and they are gated and fenced individually. My only tiller is tractor mounted and I would have to remove fencing to use it, so that's out. I would like to be able to broadcast the seed with minimal effort and I do have a sprinkler "system" to keep them watered. The first area I planted a couple of rows of mustard greens and turnips, which they have devoured. The second area I planted with a few rows of cowpeas which they ignore. The third area is untouched. Any cheap, easy help out there?
Garden's first year, 6800 sq ft of sugar sand, including the chickens' coop and runs.

Online Double B

• Sprout
  • Zone 9, Crosby, Texas
    • View Profile
Re: Chicken Pasture
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 08:13:08 PM »
Welcome to the forum TXBEAN,

I am not a chicken expert but they love squash, cucumbers, and many other garden vegetables. You might just want to plant a good Bermuda grass in the third pen because they like to eat that and in the fall, plant a rye grass if you can keep them off of it long enough to get it established. In your garden plant some collards and other leafy stuff they like to feed them as a treat to supplement their diet. Send pics of your chicks when you get a chance.

Double B
14.08 acres, John Deere 5055E, Stevens Row Hippers and cultivator, 8' Bush Hog, 74" Frontier Tiller, John Deere 655Z

Online tangentalstorm

• Grasshopper
  • Hillbilly Gardener, amongst many other things.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2016, 05:38:51 AM »